Select your All Time Sussex Championship XI

Chose 11 players from the list below, with no more than two overseas players (marked with *).

The grouping of players is for guidance only. ie you could choose two openers who are not in the list of openers.

Some players have a profile of their Sussex career on the website however the lack of a profile is in no way an indication of the likelihood or not of their selection in the final XI. We are working our way through the list of top 100 players and writing profiles in no particular order.

You can then compare your XI with that chosen by the Museum curator, to be found here

OpenersC.B. FryJohn Langridge, Gehan Mendis*, Joe Vine, Alan Melville*, Ted Bowley, Don Smith, (7)

Middle order batsmenTed Dexter, RanjiDavid Sheppard, Chris Adams, Alan Oakman, Tommy Cook, Ken Suttle, Jim Parks sen, Ernest Killick, Michael Bevan*, Alan Wells, Paul Parker, Murray Goodwin*, H Bartlett, K.S. Duleep, George Cox sen (16)

All-Rounders: Albert Relf, Arthur GilliganTony Greig, George Cox jun, James Langridge, Colin Wells (6)

Wicket-keeperJim Parks jun, Matt Prior, George Street, Peter Moores, Harry Butt, Tich Cornford (6)

Slow bowlers: Ian Salisbury, Fred Tate, Robin Marlar, Mustaq Ahmed* (4)

Quick bowlersImran Khan*, Maurice TateJohn Snow, Jofra Archer, Ian Thomson, Bert Wensley, Jason Lewry, James Kirtley, Tony Buss, Garth le Roux*, Ted James (11)

Some of the players on the short list